Posted on November 12, 2009 by Amy Schleigh
UPDATE, Friday, Nov. 13: This problem has been fixed. We have tested the direct export to RefWorks function in the Ebsco databases, and all is working fine now.
There is a problem with the Direct Export to RefWorks function within Ebsco databases.
You may get an error message stating the following:
Direct Export Not Working. The direct [...]
Filed under: Databases, Dates and Deadlines, Problem Log, RefWorks and Citation, Students | Leave a Comment »
Posted on October 28, 2009 by Amy Schleigh
Both Lexis Nexis Academic and Science Direct will be unavailable through the late evening and overnight hours of Saturday, October 31 to Sunday, November 1.
These databases will be down for system maintenance for approximately 9 hours, between 9:00pm EDT on October 31 and 5:00am EST on November 1.
If you notice any problems before [...]
Filed under: Databases, Dates and Deadlines, Faculty Interest, Problem Log, Students | Leave a Comment »
Posted on October 21, 2009 by Amy Schleigh
Mahoney Library’s Online & Print Journals List will be down for a system upgrade on Saturday, October 24, 2009 from approximately Noon to 6:00pm 3:00am-9:00am. It likely will only be down for 2 or 3 hours, but should any problems arise, may not be available until 9:00am.
This also means that when you search [...]
Filed under: Databases, Dates and Deadlines, Faculty Interest, Information Literacy, Periodicals, Problem Log, Search Tips, Students | Leave a Comment »
Posted on September 24, 2009 by rkrasnodebski
Financial literacy is a growing concern for teenagers of all socioeconomic backgrounds. President George W. Bush signed the Executive Order 13455 on January 22, 2008, creating a council of 16 members to oversee financial issues among college and high school students. This council is represented by corporations, non-profit organizations, faith-based groups, state government agencies, regulatory agencies and [...]
Filed under: Business, Databases, On the Web | Leave a Comment »
Posted on September 23, 2009 by rkrasnodebski
An outage is scheduled from Saturday night, September 26 to Sunday morning, September 27th. You may not be able to access ProQuest databases, MLA International Bibliography (Chadwyck-Healey platform), CSA databases, and RefWorks.
Do not hesitate to contact the Reference Desk at x4248 on Sunday from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. or e-mail Ask Online if you [...]
Filed under: Databases, Dates and Deadlines, Problem Log, RefWorks and Citation | Leave a Comment »
Posted on September 22, 2009 by rkrasnodebski
There are three new databases now available on the Mahoney Library website. Feel free to peruse or research any of these online databases by simply going to Databases, A-Z under Research Tools.
CAMIO (OCLC’s Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) introduces various types of art from around the world. There are approximately 95,000 images from collections [...]
Filed under: Arts & Music, Databases, Faculty Interest, History, Reviews | Leave a Comment »
Posted on May 14, 2009 by rkrasnodebski
Are you looking for evidence-based articles on the Application of the Betty Neuman Systems Model for your course Professional Nursing Transition (NURS 302)? According to the book Evidence-based medicine: how to practice and teach EBM (2000) by David L. Sackett et. al., individuals in health care require the integration of the best research evidence with [...]
Filed under: Databases, Nursing, Students | Leave a Comment »
Posted on May 12, 2009 by rkrasnodebski
Imagine the following scenario:
It’s late at night and you’re brainstorming for a topic to write about for your business class. The bibliography is due tomorrow. Exhausted, you come up with the idea to write about the problems within the banking industry. That seems too broad, so you focus on the lending crisis of two mortgage giants, [...]
Filed under: Business, Databases, Students | Leave a Comment »
Posted on May 7, 2009 by vwollny
If time is short, use the Monday through Friday publication Frontrunner (via LexisNexis Academic database) to scan “Headlines From Today’s Front Pages” of selected newspapers and magazines, as well as radio programs and television broadcasts.
For more in depth coverage, search CSE Mahoney Library’s link to Newspapers Online.
Our library also has the following newspapers in print:
Daily [...]
Filed under: Databases, General News, Uncategorized | Tagged: news | Leave a Comment »
Posted on April 30, 2009 by vwollny
Find some up-to-date information by clicking on these “Hot Searches” in LexisNexis Academic database:
In Major US Newspapers (explore the “People” group at left menu)
In Healthcare News (Worldwide) (explore the “Subject” group at left menu)
In Major Papers (Worldwide) (explore the “Geography” grouping at left menu)
In another database (Health Source – Consumer Edition), a report:
details the discovery of an [...]
Filed under: Databases, General News, Health Care Management, Science | Tagged: H1N1 flu, swine flu | 1 Comment »